Minnesota Outstanding Airmen of the Year

  • Published
  • By Senoir Master Sgt, Mark Moss
  • 133 AW
St. Paul - Three members of the 133rd Airlift Wing were selected to represent Minnesota as Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2012. They are Senior Master Sgt. Kurt Huver of the 133rd Civil Engineer Squadron selected as the Outstanding Senior Non-Commissioned Officer, Tech. Sgt. Joshua Uhl of the 208th Weather Flight selected as the Outstanding Non-Commissioned Officer, and Master Sgt. Jace Erickson of the 133rd Civil Engineer Squadron selected as the Outstanding First Sergeant of the year.

133rd Airlift Wing commander, Col. Greg Haase, made the announcement and expressed how proud he is of these Airmen. He said they were judged on leadership and job performance, significant self improvement, and involvement in community and base activities.

All of the Airmen said they are proud to represent the Wing and Minnesota. Erickson said, "Finding out that I was selected as the First Sergeant of the Year while being deployed was an awesome feeling."

There is a sacrifice involved in being part of this process, says Uhl. "The sacrifice defines me; it reminds me that this state and country are worth it."

They will be joined by Senior Airman Kayla Goorhouse of Duluth's 148th Force Support Squadron, who was selected as the Minnesota Outstanding Airman of the Year. All of them will be moving on to the national level selection process.